Did you produce a song? Would you like to forward it to a radio or blog now? This checklist for mp3 should help you to prepare your song correctly. Incorrect bitrates or "compressed to death" songs will be rejected by any radio station that focuses on quality. And just between us: Nobody wants to hear songs in lousy quality anyway. Do you?

Many professional radio stations and promoters require uncompressed 48kHz/24-bit WAV files. You should check that before shipping. (WAV files are many times larger when shipped!!!). However, this is about mp3 files.

□ Rock Songs / Band Songs

This article is about rock music that was recorded and mixed in a classical line-up such as drums - bass guitar - keyboards - vocals. Different rules apply to electronic POP music. To get to know them you are WRONG on this page.

□ Correct genre

The first thing you should check is whether the station/radio show is playing music of your genre at all. Blindly submitting to a list of stations (of which half are wrong or non-existent, according to experience) hardly leads to success. A reggae or pop station probably won't play your rock song.

□ File name

Does your song have a correct filename like “Jørg – Take the Moment.mp3”? Please note this carefully. Your song may end up in an order together with other songs. Two days later nobody knows who owns the song “MyHit2022Master3.mp3”!

□ MP3 tags

Are all mp3 meta tags embedded? Day programs are also available for free on the Internet. Metatags are song name, artist, copyright, cover art, ISRC etc. If the topic is new to you click here.

Mp3 tag software as part of your mp3 checklist

mp3 taggers

□ Bit rate

Is your bitrate set correctly? Your song should have a bitrate of 256kbps -320kbps. In the past, music was often encoded at 64kbps and mono to save space. Not any longer longer.

□ Sample Rate and Sampling Rate

These two parameters also belong on this checklist for mp3. Although they have been expanded in recent years, I strongly recommend that you work with the worldwide standard to ensure playability on any player. This standard for mp3 is 44,1kHz / 16 bit. You are welcome to use other values, but then Profi Radio will not play them.

□ Dynamic Range

Has your dynamic range been mixed correctly? You can find a description of the delivery in the terms and conditions of each music streaming service. The dynamic range (DR) describes the relationship between volume and compression, i.e. loudness. My recommendation is a DR~10, but NEVER lower than DR~8. Otherwise sounds “crushed” or starts to “pump”. Values ​​above DR12 are typical for dynamic music with many loud and quiet passages. Or for classical music.

Checklist for mp3: Dynamic Range Meter
Dynamic range meter

frequency distribution

While this isn't part of the mp3 technical checklist, it's definitely something you should discuss with your audio engineer. The distribution of frequencies in a rock song is a subject that many self-proclaimed (or even studied) studio engineers can't cope with. Your song should by no means contain individual frequency bands in the graphical viewsonders protrude, otherwise it would shrill, hum, roar or sneeze. Neither you nor your listeners want that.

Part of the checklist for mp3: frequency distribution in the graphic analyzer

You can easily find out for yourself; open your favorite mp3 player on a monitor you know well (car? computer? hi-fi system?). Now you load two well-known songs from the same genre and place your song between them. At this point at the latest, you will hear exactly whether your song is good or whether you need to have a serious conversation with your sound engineer. Here is an example of a metal song I produced.

Fear Love Hate by Jørg ft. Steve O'Leff

Summary

If you find that your song does not meet the requirements - espsondere Frequency distribution – you can save yourself the trouble of sending in your song. Tens of thousands of songs of questionable quality are released every day. These end up as "corpses" on the streaming services or are deleted from radio stations without comment.

When it comes to budget, release a really good acoustic song rather than a bad band production. You are doing yourself and your bandmates a disservice if your song is rejected. Rarely do you get a second chance from a station that has already rejected you.

You are free to use the mp3 check service from my studio / label. The article is here in my shop to find.

Only now comes the question of whether the station / radio show likes your song, loves it and plays it. Without correct mp3's this question will probably never arise. Much luck!

Du hast einen Song produziert? Du möchtest Ihn jetzt an ein Radio oder einen Blog weiterleiten? Diese Checkliste für mp3 soll Dir helfen, Deinen Song korrekt vorzubereiten. Falsche Bitrates oder “zu Tode kompromierte” Songs wird jeder Radiosender, der auf Qualität setzt, abweisen. Und mal unter uns: Songs im mieser Qualität will sowieso niemand hören. Du etwa?

Viele professionelle Radiostationen und Promoter verlangen unkomprimierte WAV files im Format 48kHz/24 Bit. Du solltest das vor dem Versand abchecken. (WAV – Dateien sind um ein vielfaches größer beim Versand!!!). Hier geht es jetzt allerdings um mp3-Files.

□ Rocksongs / Bandsongs

In diesem Artikel geht es um Rockmusik, die in einer klassischen Besetzung wie Drums – Bass -Gitarre – Keyboard – Gesang aufgenommen und gemischt wurden. Für elektronische POP Musik gelten andere Regeln. Um die kennenzulernen bist Du auf dieser Page FALSCH.

□ Richtiges Genre

Du solltest als erstes checken, ob der Sender / die Radioshow Musik Deines Genres überhaupt spielt. Blindes abschicken an eine Liste von Sendern (bei denen erfahrungsgemäß die Hälfte falsch oder nicht existent ist) führt kaum zum Erfolg. Ein Reggae- oder Pop Sender wird Deinen Rocksong wahrscheinlich nicht spielen.

□ Dateiname

Hat Dein Song einen korrekten Dateinamen wie “Jørg – Take the Moment.mp3”? Beachte das bitte sorgfältig. Dein Song landet unter Umständen erstmal zusammen mit anderen Songs in einem Order. Zwei Tage später weiss niemand mehr wem der Song “MyHit2022Master3.mp3” gehört!

□ MP3 Tags

Sind alle mp3 Meta Tags eingebettet? Tag Programme gibt es auch kostenlos im Internet. Metatags sind Songname, Interpret, Copyright, Cover Art, ISRC etc. Falls Dir das Thema neu ist klicke HIER.

Mp3 Tag Software als Teil Deiner Checkliste für mp3

mp3 Tagger

□ Bitrate

Ist Deine Bitrate korrekt gesetzt? Dein Song sollte eine Bitrate von 256kbps -320kbps aufweisen. Früher wurde Musik oft mit 64kbps und Mono kodiert, um Platz zu sparen. Jetzt nicht mehr.

□ Samplerate und Abtastrate

Diese beiden Parameter gehören auch auf diese checkliste für mp3. Sie wurden in den letzten Jahren zwar erweitert, doch empfehle ich Dir dringend, mit dem weltweiten Standard zu arbeiten, um die Abspielbarkeit auf jedem Player zu gewährleisten. Dieser Standard für mp3 lautet 44,1kHz / 16 Bit. Du kannst gern andere Werte verwenden, wird halt dann beim Profi Radio nicht gespielt.

□ Dynamic Range

Ist Deine Dynamik Range korrekt gemishct worden? Eine Beschreibung zur Anlieferung findest Du in den AGB’s jedes Musikstreamingdienstes. Die Dynamic Range (DR) beschreibt das Verhältnis zwischen Lautstärke und Kompression, also die Loudness. Meine Empfehlung ist eine DR ~10, jedoch NIEMALS niedriger als DR~8. Klingt sonst “zerquetscht” oder beginnt zu “pumpen”. Werte oberhalb DR12 sind typisch für dynamische Musik, bei der es viele laute und leise Passagen gibt. Oder auch für klassische Musik.

Checkliste für mp3: Dynamic Range Meter
Dynamic Range Meter

Frequenzverteilung

Dieser Punkt gehört zwar nicht zur technischen Checkliste für mp3, Du solltest ihn trotzdem unbedingt mit Deinem Toningenieur besprechen. Die Verteilung der Frequenzen in einem Rocksong bilden ein Thema, dem viele selbsternannte (oder auch studierte) Studio Techniker nicht gewachsen sind. Dein Song sollte auf keinen Fall einzelne Frequenzbänder in der graphischen Ansicht besonders hervorstehen haben, da er sonst grellt, brummt, dröhnt oder näselt. Das möchtest weder Du noch Deine Hörer.

Teil der Checkliste für mp3: Frequenzverteilung im Graphic Analyser

Selber kannst Du das ganz leicht herausfinden; öffne Deinen Lieblings-mp3 Player auf einer Abhöre, die Du gut kennst (Auto? Computer? Hifi-Anlage?). Jetzt lädtst Du zwei bekannte Songs aus demselben Genre und platzierst Deinen Song dazwischen. Spätestens in diesem Moment hörst Du ganz genau, ob Dein Song taugt oder Du ein ernstes Gespräch mit Deinem Tontechniker führen musst. Hier ein Beispiel eines von mir produzierten Metal Songs.

Fear Love Hate by Jørg ft. Steve O’Leff

Fazit

Wenn Du feststellst, dass Dein Song die Vorraussetzungen nicht erfüllt – insbesondere Frequenzverteilung – kanns Du Dir das Einsenden Deines Songs sparen. Täglich werden zehntausende Songs in fragwürdiger Qualität veröffentlicht. Diese enden als “Leichen” auf den Streamingdiensten oder werden bei Radiosendern kommentarlos gelöscht.

Wenn es am Budget liegt, veröffentliche lieber einen richtig guten Akustik-Song als eine schlechte Bandproduktion. Du tust Dir selbst und den Bandkollegen keinen gefallen, wenn Dein Song abgelehnt wird. Nur selten erhältst Du eine zweite Chance bei einem Sender, der Dich bereits abgelehnt hat.

Es steht Dir frei, den mp3 Check Service von meinem Studio / Label in Anspruch zu nehmen. Der Artikel ist hier in meinem Shop zu finden.

Jetzt erst kommt die Frage, ob der Sender / die Radioshow Deinen Song gut findet, liebt und auch spielt. Ohne korrekte mp3’s wird sich diese Frage vermutlich garnicht erst ergeben. Viel Glück!